Chauvinism, Criticism and Harassment – my comment on the topic.

Last week was the week the game industry showed its lack of maturity by essentially bitching about the drama surrounding Anita Sarkeesian and Zoe Quinn. I even saw another article about Phil Fish and naturally the comment section was going all out, saying things they’d never say to people’s faces.

It’s all a bit embarrassing really and I’m not sure why people care so much. Yet, here I am writing a blog post about it so obviously I care? Or do I? Yes, I seem to care enough to get involved in the mud slinging, even though what I try to do is actually pass around some bags so people can clean up their mess.

Here was my contribution to one comment section [edited for typos]…

“This comment section has basically reinforced the point that there is essentially a lot of hate directed at certain professionals in the industry. The problem is that commenters continually attack the player instead of the ball and continually try to find fault (which may be minimal) instead of trying to find what may be insightful.

Case in point are the ridiculous accusations directed at Quinn. All I’m going to say about that is for people to look up Kotaku’s response the allegations. It’s almost like people want or expect there to be something solacious and to hell with what really happened, so long as it *could* have happened.

And the hate directed at Sarkeesian is mindless in that it’s not like many people offer rebuttals to what she has to say. In fact, most of her videos are matter-of-fact in that they merely report instances of tropes and create an awareness of their existence. Culturally we get so used to the status quo that we need the efforts of people such as Sarkeesian to enlighten our thinking a bit more.

In regards to Phil Fish, I think people forget how much that guy toiled to get his game released (watch Indie Game: The Movie). Not everyone can handle media (and social media) in such a way that is dry enough to be palettable to everyone in the world. A more recent example is the maker of Flappy Wings who basically hid while all the conspiracy theories died down.”

*sigh* I don’t know why I bother. I find that people want want to discover a big conspiracy, just like a Hollywood movie but more often that not, the simplest explanations will suffice.

I endeavour to be level headed in these debates. I like jousting with my left leaning friends and conspiratorial friends alike but I do so with the knowledge that I’m as biased as everyone else. I like to appreciate all points of view (Re: Ukraine and Russia) but in the end I still feel compelled to pick a side. Will I get all bitchy with someone who disagrees with me? No, but I’ll still try and make a thought provoking remark on an Al Jazeera Facebook post about the Ukraine conflict (which is a cultural and geopolitical puzzle that I suspect doesn’t bode well for Ukraine).

Anyway.

Come on guys. The rest of the world must be thinking what the hell is wrong with our industry given the way we’re behaving at the moment.

Leave a Reply

