Sphere Casts

There are so many instances where I write a pleading forum post asking for suggestions/solutions to a problem I have only to discover the answer soon after I post it. I’m hedging bets in a way, hoping that someone else has a solution in case I don’t eventually find one myself.

This almost happened again in regards to collision detection in Unity3D. I wanted to do something that seemed really basic: find out when two collision meshes collided (overlapped). You’d think this would be simple, right? Nah, maybe… kind of…

After the initial hunting around the documentation I tried implementing the the OnCollisionEnter/Exit approach. Mmmm, didn’t work. So I hunted around the forums and found this.

Oh, so I need rigid bodies to detect a collision? Seriously? That’s a bit overkill when I’m not using any physics.

Oh, wait, it turns out I should have been using raycasts.

That I can do because I’d been using them for touch selection (mouse picking).

…but oh, wait… What’s this sphere cast?

YES!

SphereCasts are just fat raycasts but they feel like a little heavy handed for detecting collisions. Every time a unit moves (such as a tank or infantry) I’m having to sphere cast its bounds against the 2D world to see if it hits anything. I’d rather the engine have been smart enough to tell be there was a collision rather than me having to ask. I feel like I’m have to hand-hold it.

In my case I’m trying to determine if a unit is inside one of the OpenStreetMaps defined areas such as a building. If I was having to build this system from scratch I’d use the fantastic Sort and Sweep algorithm that is described in Real-Time Collision Detection by Christer Ericson but I have to trust that Unity is using some cleverly optimised collision detection algorithm that quickly determines collisions between sphere cast and the collision meshes.

That’s why I’m using an engine. It look quick a while to make that algorithm work for Mobile Assault.

Leave a Reply

